LA:RISE

LA:RISE Advocacy

MEASURE H STRATEGY

The Board of Supervisors has called for a reassessment of the Measure H strategies to enable the Homeless Initiative to build on proven solutions, make necessary modifications, and develop new approaches.  We have some concerns about the Measure H reassessment recommendations, so we’re firing up the LA:RISE advocacy machine.  Our goal is to make sure that the Board and CEO’s office understand the critical role that employment services from employment social enterprises, workforce partners (AJCCs, WSCs, YSCs), and retention partners play in solving homelessness in LA County.  LA:RISE is a proven solution!  As a reminder, LA:RISE partners receive Measure H funding for both the City and County LA:RISE programs.  This funding is critical to supporting your work and program services.

 

LOS ANGELES COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETINGS

All Council and Council Committee meetings are open to the public, with the exception of “closed session” meeting items. Members of the public may comment on agenda items either at Council Committee meetings or Council meetings. Meeting dates and agendas can be found on the Council Committee Meetings page and the Council Committee Meetings calendar. Committee assignments and members can be found here. REDF will provide updates and guidance regarding what meetings need to be represented by LA:RISE partners

The following committees and meeting times are pertinent to the LA:RISE program:

  • Economic Development and Jobs Committee (2nd & 4th Tuesdays at 3:30PM)
  • Homelessness and Poverty Committee (2nd & 4th Thursdays at 10:00AM)
  • Budget and Finance Committee (2nd & 4th Mondays at 2:00PM)

 

CITY AND COUNTY CONTACTS:

Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors 

Name Contact Email
District 1 Supervisor Hilda Solis firstdistrict@bos.lacounty.gov
Housing & Homelessness Deputy Daniella Urbina DUrbina@bos.lacounty.gov
District 2 Supervisor Holly J. Mitchell HollyJMitchell@bos.lacounty.gov
Senior Deputy, Workforce Development & Economic Opportunity Caroline Torosis CTorosis@bos.lacounty.gov
District 3 Supervisor Lindsey Horvath thirddistrict@bos.lacounty.gov
TBD TBD
District 4 Supervisor Janice Hahn FourthDistrict@bos.lacounty.gov
Economic Development Deputy Jayme Wilson JWilson@bos.lacounty.gov
District 5 Supervisor Kathryn Barger kathryn@bos.lacounty.gov
Children, Family Services, and Economic and Workforce Development Deputy Monica Banken MBanken@bos.lacounty.gov

Los Angeles City Council

Name Contact Email
District 1 Councilmember Eunisses Hernandez councilmember.hernandez@lacity.org
TBD TBD
District 2 Councilmember Paul Krekorian councilmember.Krekorian@lacity.org
Senior Policy Deputy Aaron Ordower aaron.ordower@lacity.org
District 3 Councilmember Bob Blumenfield councilmember.blumenfield@lacity.org
Legislative Director Jeff Jacobberger jeff.jacobberger@lacity.org
District 4 Councilmember Nithya Raman contactCD4@lacity.org
Homeless Deputy Josh Scarcella josh.scarcella@lacity.org
District 5 Councilmember Katy Yaroslavsky councilmember.yaroslavsky@lacity.org
TBD TBD
District 6 Vacant councildistrict6@lacity.org
TBD TBD
District 7 Councilmember Monica Rodriguez councilmember.rodriguez@lacity.org
Director of Planning and Economic Development Paola Bassignana paola.bassignana@lacity.org
District 8 Councilmember Marqueece Harris-Dawson councilmember.harris-dawson@lacity.org
Homelessness and Equity Programs Deputy Aden Binyam aden.binyam@lacity.org
District 9 Councilmember Curren D. Price Jr. councilmember.price@lacity.org
Director of Policy Initiatives Marisa Alcaraz marisa.alcaraz@lacity.org
District 10 Councilmember Heather Hutt councilmember.hutt@lacity.org
Policy Deputy Alex Morales dhakshike.wickrema@lacity.org
District 11 Councilmember Traci Park councilmember.park@lacity.org
TBD TBD
District 12 Councilmember John Lee councilmember.Lee@lacity.org
Legislative Director Erich King erich.king@lacity.org
District 13 Councilmember Hugo Soto-Martinez councilmember.soto-martinez@lacity.org
TBD TBD
District 14 Councilmember Kevin de León councilmember.kevindeleon@lacity.org
Chief of Staff Jennifer Barraza jennifer.barraza@lacity.org
District 15 Councilmember Tim McOsker councilmember.mcosker@lacity.org
TBD TBD